Society announces new Honorary Fellowship

The Society has conferred Honorary Fellowship to Jacqueline James.

The Society of Designer Craftsmen are delighted to announce Jacqueline James as their newest Honorary Fellow. Jacqueline has been a Fellow for many years and has given a great deal of her time and expertise to supporting the SDC and its members. She has had a long standing and successful career as a textile artist, winning many awards and commissions, and has consistently produced very high quality work over her career. She has been a huge supporter of the Society as well as an assessor for many years and a great ambassador. She has shown a high level of commitment to both her work and the Society, always doing her best to attend events despite difficult challenges, most recently exhibiting with the society at RBSA, Birmingham in 2021 and London's Bankside Gallery in 2022, travelling long distances to participate in each.

Major commissions include weaving for Westminster Abbey, York Minster and The British Library. In 1993 Jacqueline was given the Frink Award of Achievement, presented at the Women of the Year Lunch Event in London. In 1997 she was awarded a Winston Churchill Memorial Trust Travelling Fellowship and in 1998 received a Theo Moorman Trust Bursary Award for Weaving.

Jacqueline said of her award:
'I am absolutely delighted and extremely grateful and proud that I have recently become an Honorary Fellow of the Society of Designer Craftsmen. I was nominated and endorsed by my respected peers and members of the committee of the SDC. This accolade is a true honour as I have been a member since the beginning of my rug weaving career. In 1988 I was selected as a Licentiate Member at the end of year textiles exhibition at Harrogate College of Art. Over the years I progressed to become a Member (MSDC), then a Fellow Member (FSDC).'