Our Structure

We have an active and hard working council which is responsible for the administration and management of the Society's day to day business and strategic direction.

Sir Christopher Frayling


Appointed President of the SDC in 1998.

In 1979 Sir Christopher Frayling was appointed first professor of Cultural History at the Royal College of Art. In partnership with the V&A, Imperial College, the Arts Council and the Tate, he pioneered joint postgraduate courses. Knighted for services to Art and Design education in 2001 he has garnered attention for both his writing and broadcasting and has published in excess of a dozen books.


All Members of Council are Trustees of the Society

Jenny Starr Associate

Executive Director - Appointed 2024. (Photo credit - Jemima Yong)

Kate Mason Associate

Chair - Appointed 2021

Adam Aaronson FSDC

Chair of the Selection Committee (Photo credit: Luke Whatley-Bigg)

Hazel Connors FSDC

Exhibitions Curator

Kayley Holderness FSDC

Council Member

Naomi Jacques MSDC

Membership Secretary

Margaret Jones FSDC

Council Member

Dan Maier FSDC

Council Member

Steven Wager FSDC

Council Member

John Theophilus Associate

Society Treasurer

Pat Tempest Associate

Society Administrator

Volunteers and Support Teams

Education Team (mentoring@societyofdesignercraftsmen.org.uk)
Marshall Colman (MSDC)
Tori McLean (MSDC)
Kate Mason (Associate)
Pat Tempest (Associate)

Exhibitions Team 2024 (exhibitions@societyofdesignercraftsmen.org.uk)
Adam Aarsonson (FSDC)
Sharon Kearley (MSDC)
Adam Hussain(FSDC)
Ali Tomlin (MSDC)
Kate Mason (Associate)
Jenny Starr (Associate)
Pat Tempest (Associate)

Social Media Team (socialmedia@societyofdesignercraftsmen.org.uk)
Claudia Luque (LSDC)
Kayley Holderness (FSDC)
Lilly Reid (LSDC)

Newsletter and Website Content Editor (editor@societyofdesignercraftsmen.org.uk)
Pat Tempest (Associate)

Contacting Council

You are welcome to contact Council via our Contact Us page. Please only contact Council with regard to Council and Society matters and mark any communication for the attention of Council. For Membership questions please contact the Membership Secretary via our Contact Us page